Jerauld Co Ag Building - vote here

Jerauld County Commissioner results to be posted online at tonight

Since early this morning, with voters waiting for the polls to open at 7 a.m., the Jerauld County 4-H Building has been "the place to be" according to poll workers who anticipate a busy remainder of Election Day. 

Whether Jerauld County residents placed their votes at the Ag Building in Wessington Springs or the Community Center in Alpena, locals are joining fellow South Dakotans and Americans in big numbers today to exercise their right to vote.

Jerauld County Commissioner unofficial results can be found at tonight after polls close and votes are tallied. 

At the Jerauld County Commissioner level, Pat Fastnacht (D), Jeff Messmer (R) and Clay Wenzel (I) are running in the District 3 county commissioner election. Candidates for District 1 county commissioner are incumbent Fred Krohmer (D) and Sheridan Larson (R).

On the local District 20 level (Aurora, Davison and Jerauld Counties), Ione Klinger (D), James Schorzmann (D), Lance Koth (R), and Paul Miskimins (R) are running in the South Dakota House of Representatives District general election. Dan Miller (D) and incumbent Joshua Klumb (R) are running in the South Dakota State Senate District 20 general election. 

On the state level, South Dakota voters will elect a new governor to replace outgoing two-term governor Dennis Daugaard. Candidates are Billie Sutton (D-Burke) and running mate Michelle Lavallee; Kristi Noem (R-Castlewood) and running mate Larry Rhoden; and Kurt Evans (I-Wessington Springs) and Richard Shelatz.

Four South Dakota candidates are up for election to the United State House: Dustin “Dusty” Johnson (R-Mitchell), George D. Hendrickson (L-Sioux Falls), Ron Wieczorek (I-Mt. Vernon) and Tim Bjorkman (D-Canistota). The winner will join Mike Rounds as part of the South Dakota delegation in Washington, D.C.

Other state races include Secretary of State, Attorney General, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Commissioner of Public School and Public Lands, and Public Utilities Commissioner. Information about those races can be found at the South Dakota Secretary of State’s website,

South Dakota voters will also decide five statewide ballot issues in the 2018 general election.